A Book Recommendation: The French Twist Series

The French Twist Series by Sandra Byrd

General Age I would recommend it to: 13+

First Book in the Series: Let Them Eat Cake  Let them Eat cake cover for blogPiece de Resistance cover for blogBon appetit cover for blog

I like to read more than one book at a time. I read a stack of books in varying genres and stick to them till I finish them. Every once in a while though, I find a book that pulls me away from all other books because it is so good.  The French Twist series were those kind of books. I started them with full intention of reading them with my other books, but I just couldn’t put it down. They were fun, relatable and interesting, I read them all the way through really quickly!

The story follows Lexi Stuart, a twenty-four year old who just got fired from another job. Not only is she unemployed and living with her parents, who are soon moving to a retirement community, her love life is non-existent. Tired of forcing herself to do boring jobs that mean nothing to her, she takes a chance and applies to work at a french bakery that recently opened up. Baking is her passion so she feels good about this decision despite the fact that the job only pays minimum wage and she would only be doing front of the house work, no baking. Not only does she has her heart set on getting the assistant manager position that opened up, she has a huge crush on her boss, Luc, and hopes a relationship will come out of that.  Lexi has lots of ideas of how her life should go, but as she moves forward she sees God putting in a different, much better direction.

I found so much to love in this series. It is written in way that pulled me in and got me involved. In each book I loved the setting and just the light hearted girl drama. At first I thought Lexi was annoying but as the series moved forward I really started to enjoy her character.I felt like she was a relatable and I liked that. I always like the stories that take place in the world I live in. One of the best things in the series was the food imagery, if this series did nothing else, it made me want a french pastry. Lexi is constantly baking and inventing new recipes, and the whole bakery atmosphere was so fun to read about.

This was definitely a good summer read, they were the kind of books you would throw in your backpack and read while on the beach, or the kind of book you pull off your bedside table and relax with after a long day in the sun. I loved the comtemperary, real life feel, but it also had some character growth and good things to say about trusting God and handling responsibilities, so it wasn’t complete fluff.

You will like this book if:

  • You like contemperary novels
  • You like reading about food
  • You want a fun read
  • You want to read a book with love triangles and girl fluff

You won’t like this book if:

  • You want something with a lot of depth and that deals with heavy issues
  • You don’t want to read about a girl’s drama and problems

Has anyone else read the French Twist Series, if so did you like it as much as I did?

Would you read this series?

What type of book do you like to read in the summer?

Leave a Reply

