A Readers Condition

As aย  reader I have a serious condition,I would like to think others do too.

Does this scenario sound familiar? You finish a really good book. You put it down and are still so into it, you wish there was a sequel or you can’t wait to get your hands on the sequel if there is one, either way you know loved the book. This happens to me frequently and I have decided this: when you finish a really good book, there two things that happen, Book Depression or Book Obsession.

Last year I read “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. It was such an amazing book, I absolutely loved it. After I finished it I felt at a loss, I didn’t really feel inclined to pick up a new book because I was still so wrapped up in the one I had just read about. I felt kind of sad about finishing such an amazing book. I had an acute case of Book Depression,I’ve heard it called Book Hangover most of the time, accurately summed up by this-Book Hangover for blog

On the other hand I just finished the Book Thief about a month ago. After finishing it, I wanted more so I searched for pictures and quotes and wanted my friends and family to read it so I could talk about it with them. I wished I hadn’t finished as fast as I did because I enjoyed it so much. While I loved the book I wasn’t necessarily sad about finishing it, I just wanted more! I had a terrible case of book obsession.

So those are just two examples of the many times I have suffered Book Depression/Obsession. This is one of the best things a reader can experience, because it means the book was amazing! So I wrote this post to let you know, you are not alone, not only is is a well known condition it is highly treatable. Remedy: Pick up another good book and repeat process!

Leave a Reply

