My Reading Habits Tag

Hello people of the world!

I read a post over on An Irish Book Lover, where she did this tag. She tagged everyone reading to do it, and it looked fun, so here we go!

1. Do you have a  certain place at home for  reading?

Well I mostly read on my bed, but recently we took out the bottom bunk to the bunk bed and put shelving, a beanbag chair and twinkle lights, so I will often read in that cozy corner. Overall I’m not really picky because if it is quiet enough in the living room I do like to curl up on the couch, and also reading on the bench under the arbor in the backyard is wonderful.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

It depends on whats around me. I have  bookmarks, but if I don’t have them on hand I just use a random scrap of paper. Most of the time unless it is a really big book, I don’t even use a bookmark.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/certain amount of pages?

I can’t just stop in the middle of a sentence or paragraph, I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter but I will settle for stopping at a breaking point if need be.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

No. Sometimes I try, but I find it hard to do both, and I’m always paranoid about ruining my books.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I can never watch TV while  reading, I get distracted by the show and stop reading, even if it is one of my dads boring documentaries!  As far as listening to music, I don’t usually listen to music while reading, but sometimes when I’m in the car or something I do. It can be fun when a song that fits the mood of whatever your reading comes on and it turns into a mini soundtrack!

6. One book or several at once?

I rarely read one book at a time. I probably read to many at time but I like to have different genres and stories so I always have something to fit my mood. If a book is really interesting though…

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

I mostly read at home, but I usually bring a book around with me when I leave the house on the off chance I can read.

8. Reading out loud or quietly in your head?

I read in my head, sometimes I might whisper the words but only if I am having a hard time focusing or I  feel like giving the characters voices. When I was little reading in my head gave me a headache so I guess whisper-reading became sort of a habit.

9.  Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I never skip pages, but I am  notorious for looking ahead. I try not to, but sometimes I need to find out what happens later!

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I like to keep my books as nice as possible.

11. Do you write in your books?

No, with an exception of the Bible and maybe some school books I just can’t.

So those are my reading habits! What are yours?

Leave a Reply

