An Opinion on: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell2015-08-14 09.44.40

General Age I would Recommend it to: 15+

Categories:Contemporary Fiction, Young Adult

If you follow me on Instagram you have seen that I read and finished Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I had heard so many good things about this book from popular book blogs  and book related Instagram accounts I follow, so I was excited to read this book. I have to say, it didn’t disappoint.

The book focuses on Cather Avery. An introverted fangirl who is entering her freshman year of college. Her twin sister Wren, is drawing away, not only from her, but from their beloved fandom of  Simon Snow, and rooms with someone else leaving Cather alone and nervous about this whole experience of “college”. Rather than face this by herself she locks herself in her room, writes fanfiction and eats protein bars. Cather’s home isn’t much better. Her mother left them when they were eight and her father struggles with manic depression. She is constantly worried about him living on his own. As the year goes on Wren and Cath grow farther apart, Cather grows closer to her hard, bold roomate Reagan and the cheerful, goofy, Levi who she believes to be Reagan’s boyfriend. Through all this the one person who is always there for her, is Levi. He goes out of his way to walk h

er home when she is at the library past midnight. He drives her home and to the hospital when her father relapses. He is always ready to bring her a pumpkin spice latte and listen to her read fanfiction. It is no wonder that develop feelings towards each other.  Cath is pushed out of her comfort zone in many ways and she pours herself into her wildly popular fanfiction Carry On, because writing is an escape for her. Despite all these new and uncomfortable things Cath finds how a life for herself.

Fangir2015-08-14 09.43.18l was an ex2015-08-14 09.44.22cellent book. It was a page turner, you don’t typically think that a  YA novel about an introvert in college would be so interesting,but it was. The writing was so good, I would just keep reading for hours straight, it pulled me in, I wanted to know what happened to Cather Avery. I found myself relating to Cath, with all her fandom obsession and trepidation towards the new world of college. As  a teenage girl with a sister I’m close with, I found her relationship with Wren realistic and interesting. I am a massive sucker for a sweet romance and The love story with Levi was perfect.

“I miss you.”
“That’s stupid,” she said. “I saw you this morning.”
“It’s not the time,” Levi said, and she could hear that he was smiling.” It’s the distance.”
Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

Now this book wasn’t a Christian book and that was obvious, I have to say I was cautious going into reading it. Content wise it was debatable, it had its fair share of foul language and plenty of talk and implied premarital sex. Nothing was ever shown excepting a few intense kisses. Another issue was the fanfiction she wrote was about two guys she “shipped” together. The content really wasn’t to bad, but it depends on person to person. If you would prefer not to be exposed to things like this, then I would not recommend this book. On the other hand, while I didn’t agree with everything that happened in the book, the content wasn’t grossly shoved in your face.

So overall, I really enjoyed this book

You will like this book if:

  • You like Contemporary fiction
  • You relate to introverts
  • You like the college setting
  • You like boy meets girl love stories
  • You like stories about sisters
  • You are a fangirl!

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You want to read a good clean book
  • You don’t like YA novels
  • A slightly angsty, introverted girl would irritate you

Have you read Fangirl? If so what did you think?

Does this book sound interesting?

5 thoughts on “An Opinion on: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

