An Opinon On: The Selection

The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

First Book: The Selection

Second Book: The Elite

Third Book: The One

General Age I would recommend it too: 13-14+

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Dystopia

Hello Everyone!

I am going to be honest with all of you, I judge book by their covers. I don’t do it intentionally, in fact I have read many wonderful books with ugly covers, but I will assume a book is not very good if the cover is outdated. Sometimes though, my judgy mentality can work in my favor, I will see a book with a really pretty cover and be instantly intrigued and want to read it. That was the case with The Selection by Kiera Cass, because of my initial admiration of the pretty covers, I looked up what the books were about, and I knew that I needed to read the series as soon as possible.

The Selection for blog
Unfortunately, I don’t actually own the first book, The Selection.

Synopsis

Illea, the country that was once the great USA is divided into castes, essentially tiers of society. Ones are the royal family, Twos are celebrities and so on. America Singer’s life is far from easy, she is a Five, andย  her family is struggling to make ends meet, to complicate things more she harbors a secret romance with Aspen Leger, a Six. Almost overnight her life changes. The Selection is about to begin. The Selection takes place every twenty or so years when the Prince of Illea is old enough to marry. Every girl in the country between the ages sixteen and twenty turns in an application and thirty-five girls are selected to come to palace and in time the Prince will choose the one he wants to marry.ย  America is blindsided to find out that she was selected. Not only is she one in the 35 girls selected, she is also the only girl in a caste lower the four. She is not enamored by the Selection at all, she finds the Prince of Ilea, Maxon Schreave, boring and stuck up and only wants to stay to help her family. The longer America sticks around she begins to discover more and more that makes her want to stay. She finds that everything is not peaceful in Illea, the palace is under constant attacks from Rebels both in the North and South, some are dangerously violent .As she learns more about the country she develops a deep desire to help the people. The most unexpected turn of events happens when she finds her heart softening towards Maxon, finding so much more to him than she first expected.

Despite my initial interest, I was skeptical about how much I would enjoy the books. I found that my skepticism was pointless, I loved these books so much! I was initially not sure about America, she slightly irritating to me in the beginning, but by the end of the series all of that changed. I loved America, she made stupid choices and did things that made me want to scream, but she was realistic and believable, I could understand her and I appreciate that in protagonists. Honestly I could go on for days about how much I loved Maxon Schreave, he was a wonderful character, an ideal Prince Charming that still had flaws and showed amazing character development. The series was a perfect blend of two things for me, it had the fun princess, castle and romance story line, but also had a great suspenseful, serious, dystopian society aspect. The two parts worked together to produce a story that wasn’t too fluffy but was lighter and more positive than your typical angsty rebellion story.ย  In the end I loved this series as much as America Singer loved food, which means I loved it alot. I am a hopeless romantic, I love fairytails, princes and happy endings, this series had all of these elements but maintained a fresh twist .

You probably will like this book if:

  • You like Prince/Princess stories
  • You like ABC’s Bachelor
  • You like stories with a dystopian spin
  • You want to get a new fictional crush (you will fall in love with Maxon Shcreave)

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You want a darker read
  • You want a book that doesn’t focus on a romance

 

Have you read The Selection? What were your thoughts?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

