An Opinion On: Magnus Chase: Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Magnus Chase for Blog

 

Magnus Chase: Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

General Age I Would Recommend It To: 11+

Genre: Fantasy/Adventure, Mythology, Young Adult

 

Hello Everyone!

If you have been following my blog for any amount of time you have probably picked up on the fact that I love Percy Jackson. I pretty much will read anything Rick Riordan writes, but I have to admit I was a little skeptical when Magnus Chase came out, because come on, a Riordan book without Percy? I kind dragged my feet about reading and didn’t pick it up for a while, but once I had it in my hands I couldn’t wait to start it!

Processed with VSCO
Processed with VSCO

Summary: Magnus is homeless. He never knew his father and his mother was killed in a horrific attack by giant wolves. So sixteen year old Magnus Chase is left on the streets just trying to survive. He manages pretty well with the help of his two older friends Blitz and Hearthstone, until he visits his uncles. His uncle, who has never gotten along with anyone in the family,  says a lot of stuff about old Viking lore and Mythology. Magnus gets pretty freaked out and weird things start happening. Magnus suddenly gets pulled into a world of Vikings, Valkyries and Asgardians. With the help of friends, Blitz, Hearth and the Valkyrie Sammirah, Magnus must use the Sword of Summer and rebind the Fernis Wolf in just a few days to prevent doomsday.

“Wrongly chosen, wrongly slain, A hero Valhalla cannot contain. Nine days hence the sun must go east, Ere Sword of Summer unbinds the beast.”

Processed with VSCO

Review: First things first, the cover of this book is gorgeous! The colors, the sort abstract way it captures the story, the art of Magnus and the Fernis Wolf, ugh its just so pretty! As far as the story, I enjoyed this book. I was really skeptical coming into it, but I was pleasantly surprised, I liked it! I really like Magnus as a character, he was hilarious, sassy and well developed. The side characters were a mixed bag for me, I loved Blitz and Hearthstone, they were unique and fun. I liked Sam, I thought she was a good character, but she seemed very similar to other main females Rick Riordan has written. The story was fun, it had the funny chapter titles and was witty and entertaining. The Norse Mythology was well intergrated, and I enjoyed reading about it. In my opinion, the book wasn’t as fast paced and gripping as Percy Jackson. I liked it, but I felt the story dragged slightly in parts, and it followed a very similar plot to the ones we see in the  PJO and HoO. Despite that, it was a good enjoyable read. I think anyone who enjoyed Percy Jackson, or Mythology would like it!

“It was an annoying name to have. People tended to spell in Mangus, rhymes with Angus. I always corrected them: No, it’s Magnus, rhymes with swagness. At which point they would stare at me blankly.”
Rick Riordan, The Sword of Summer

You probably will like this book if:

  • You like Mythology of any kind.
  • You want a funny, easy read.
  • You like the style of the Percy Jackson series

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You aren’t interested in Norse Mythology or Viking lore of any kind
  • You want something really fresh and orginal

 

A you a fan of Rick Riordan?

What is your favorite Mythology to study?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Opinion On: Magnus Chase: Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

