An Opinion On: Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

me-before-you-for-blog

 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

General Age I Would Recommend It Too: 15+

Genre: Contemporary, Drama

I first heard about this book at the beginning of the year, I had seen one or two bloggers talk about it and soon everyone was talking about it, and I determined that I had to read it. I finally picked it up at the start of this fall, and I will tell you, this book, ruined me.

Summary: Louisa Clark just got fired from her long term job at a cafe. She was very comfortable with her life and now suddenly she has to make many changes. She manages to secure a job as a caretaker for a quadreplegic man, Will Traynor. Will Traynor, loved life, he climbed mountains, traveled the world and was the head of a successful company. Now he’s confined to a wheelchair and can’t even feed himself. Will is severely depressed, Louisa is hired to cheer him up and help realize how wonderful life can be and how much life is worth living.

Processed with VSCO

What I liked: This book destroyed me. The writing was wonderful, the story, the characters, everything, it wrapped its way around my heart and got in my head.  I loved the how she developed the relationship between Will and Lousia, it was slow and natural and SO amazing. I loved how you saw Louisa grow through the book, realizing how there is so much to life and grasping every opportunity to live life to it’s fullest and try new things. This book was so good, I tore through this book over a weekend, the writing had that pull to it, that made me want to keep reading. It was emotional and made me cry, but it also had moments that warmed my heart or made me laugh out loud. It was just one of those books that stays with you.

“You are scored on my heart, Clark. You were from the first day you walked in,with your ridiculous clothes and your complete inability to ever hide a single thing you felt.”
― Will Traynor, Jojo Moyes, Me Before You

What I didn’t like:

*Spoiler Alert*

I really struggled with the ending and Will’s choice to end his life. One of the main themes about the book was living life, and yet Will chose the exact opposite. It frustrated me how he said the last six months had been the best of his life, and yet somehow, it wasn’t enough, like what logic is that? Obviously, I can’t even imagine the pain and struggles that Will had to go through, but I found myself tearing up, pleading with him at the end to just take life one day at a time. I think life is more about love and what comes from out hearts than what we can physically do, so Will’s choice was hard for me. I just didn’t like how the book ended on that note. It made me sad and frustrated

 

You probably will like this book if:

  • You like emotional books
  • You want to read something with great writing
  • You want a book you get really invested in

 

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You don’t want a sad book
  • You don’t want to read something that deals with assisted suicide

 

Have you read this books? What was your thoughts on the ending?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Opinion On: Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

  1. I read this book and completely agree with you on every point you made! The writing was fantastic and the characters sucked me in. But I was not ok with the ending. Like you said, I don’t understand what that would feel like but to me, life is so much more than what you can physically do. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

