Lord of Rings: Why You Should Read It.

lord-of-the-rings-for-blog

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

General Age I would Recommend it Too: 12+

Genre: Fantasy, Classic

 

Hello Everyone!

It’s Thanksgiving this week, and I want to share about a book series I am very thankful for πŸ™‚ I mentioned last week that Lord of the Rings is my favorite book series ever. If you’ve ever talked books with me, you probably know that. There is just so much to love, and I don’t think I can even begin to explain why I love it so much, but I’ll try.

I technically “read” these books when I was eleven years old. My oldest sister used to read aloud to me and my other sister before we went to sleep and Lord of the Rings was one of the books she picked to read (it was also one of her favorites). Surprisingly I wasn’t super excited for her to read them, for some reason my adolescent mind thought it would be scary or boring. I was totally wrong, it only took a few chapters to be completely sucked into the wonderful world of Middle Earth. After, my sister finished reading the books aloud, we watched all the extended edition movies and then I moved onto reading the series myself multiple times, including the The Hobbit and The Sillmarillion.

Lord of the Rings is a classic, it is one of the first great fantasy stories. Much of the inspiration for the trilogy was taken from Norse Mythology poems and the story obviously has standard fantasy elements like elves, dwarves andΒ  goblins, but J.R.R Tolkien wove all those things with so much originality and creativity, Middle Earth is a truly unique and beautiful place.

Processed with VSCO

In case you are unfamiliar, the storyline of Lord of the Rings follows this. Long ago,Β  the evil lord Sauron, forged a Ring of power. After a war with the forces of good and evil the Sauron was defeated and the king of Gondor, took the Ring for himself rather than destroying it right then. Flash forward about two thousand years and an innocent hobbit Bilbo finds the Ring on his adventure with twelve dwarves and the great wizard Gandalf the Gray. As Bilbo grows old he leaves the Ring for his young nephew Frodo. Frodo who lives happily with no desire for adventure or heroics, is shocked when Gandalf comes to his door with news that the Ring is evil and its master Sauron is growing power, searching for the Ring once again. Frodo sets out with a few of his friends to Rivendell where, the council of elves decides w

hat must be done against this rising threat. Frodo, and eight others, set off through Middle Earth to destroy the Ring in the fires of Mount Doom where it was forged, and fight in a battle of dark and light.

This trilogy is epic. That is the only way to describe it. If you enjoy fantasy whatsoever, I can’t recommend these books enough. They are a story worth reading and something you definitely don’t want to miss.They incorporate everything to love about fantasy, they have a beautiful world building, strong characters, action and history, battle scenes, courageous speeches, literally just everything about them is perfect.

Here is my advice to anyone reading or wanting to read these books: take it slow. These books are intense and long, they have small print and big pages with tons of history and story packed into them. If you pick one up hoping to causally read it in a short period of time, you will more than likely find yourself bored because it takes some focus to read them. But don’t let that intimidate you, because I promise it’s worth it. This series is so amazing and wonderful, I literally cried at the end last time I read it, because I was so invested in the story.

Pick this book, read it, fall in love, cry, repeat process.

 

Have you read The Lord of the Rings?

What are your thoughts on long books like this one?

 

2 thoughts on “Lord of Rings: Why You Should Read It.

Leave a Reply

