A Book Recommendation: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

tlc-for-blog

 

 

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

First Book in the Series: Cinder

General I Would Recommend It Too: 14+

Genres: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, YA

 

Hello Everyone!

This series is very popular, there’s no doubt about it, I had been hearing about it for months before I finally picked it up. I have to say, I wasn’t initially very interested in them, because I’m really not a huge fan of the Sci-Fi genre. However I was really intrigued by the fairy tale retellings. I did finally pick them up, I was so glad because, let me tell you these books are fantastic.

Summary: This four book series follows four classics fairytales; Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. You start with Cinder who is a cyborg mechanic in New Beijing. She is famous being the best mechanic in the whole city, this is why Crown Prince Kai brings his malfunctioning android to her to be fixed. Kai is not only worrying about his android, but also his father, the Emperor who is dying from Letumosis, a deadly disease that is sweeping the globe. Meanwhile the annual Summer Ball is coming up, with a special guest, Levana, the Queen of Luna, the civilization on the moon. Levana comes to earth with a proposed alliance, but many doubt her intentions, especially with the rumors she killed her niece, Selene, the rightful heir to the Lunar throne. Cinder ends up being swept up in the action when she is drafted in the Cyborg draft, a program that drafts cyborgs to be test subjects for the Letumosis cure. As the series moves on new characters are introduced, and it is up to a ragtag crew of nine to try to bring justice to Luna and save the world.

“You said yourself that the people of Luna need a revolutionary.” She lifted her chin, holding his gaze. “So I’m going to Luna, and I’m going to start a revolution.”

– Cinder
Marissa Meyer

 

Review: I know I’m probably the 7,000th person to say this, but READ THESE BOOKS. They truly do live up to the hype, like I said earlier, I was skeptical coming in, but here I am now utterly obsessed. These books have a little bit of everything, a great original story, an amazing, diverse cast of characters, incredible friendships and romances. This series is like a mixture of, the original fairytales (think Grimms, Perrault, ect.) meets Star Wars. The story and whole concept are so great, but its the characters are just as amazing. I legitimately cannot pick a favorite, they were all so engaging and original.One of my favorite things was that there were strong females and males, every character was excellently written.  I have to say, I enjoyed Cinder, but it’s definitely one of those series that just gets better and better with each book. The whole series just builds and weaves together in each book and its awesome. Read these books, you will not regret it, also I guarantee you will find a new fictional crush or two…

You probably will like this book if:

  • You Fairytales, especially the classic ones.
  • You like Sci-fi, space, andriods, cyborgs, ect.
  • You like “heroes save the world” kind of stories

You probably won’t this book if:

  • You don’t like stories that get a little intense
  • You don’t care for the Fantasy or Sci-fi genres

 

Have you read this series? If so what were your thoughts?

Do you like fairytale retellings

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Book Recommendation: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

