The 5 Stages of Falling in Love With a Book

5-stages-of-falling-in-love-with-books

Hello Everyone!

Over the past few months I have been reading a lot of highly recommended books, with a couple of exceptions I’ve enjoyed them all. I was thinking about some of my more recent reads and pondering how I enjoyed some but absolutely fell in love with others. As I was thinking I realized there are five stages to falling in love with a book…

1. You keep turning pages.

Of course any good book will keep you interested, but I’m talking about that feeling when you told yourself you were going to stop after the next chapter but then you didn’t notice when you started to read the next chapter you were so absorbed. It”s like the book has this magnetic pull, you just keep flipping those pages without really thinking about it.

2. You NEED to talk about it with someone.

You know how it goes, you are halfway through the book, something big just happened and you just need to discuss it/vent about it. For me this is when I regale my sister who has not read it, or I start pressuring her to read it so we can talk about it together. This is one of the biggest reasons I love the online book communities because usually there is someone out there to talk about the book with!

3. Think about the book at random times.

I usually notice just how much I am enjoying a book when I am going about my day and the story, characters or main couple kind of just lingers in my mind constantly. I’ll have to stop reading for a while to do something real and I’ll find myself thinking about the book as I grocery shop, clean or do work of any kind. The book is just sort of sticking with me.

4. You finish the book and it leaves a hole.

Every Bibliophile knows this feeling. The book is over, and you have a little hole in your heart, you are glad you know how the book ended but now it’s all over and you don’t even know what to read that could possibly be as good.#thestruggle

5. You begin to search everything.

When I finish a book and I loved it, I find myself just typing it into just about every search bar on the Internet. I search for fanblogs and edits on Tumblr, I search news on possible sequels and the author’s future projects, I search for reviews on Goodreads and book blogs. I pretty much scour the Internet to look up this book.

This is what I go through every time I fall in love with a book, it happened almost six years ago with Percy Jackson and most recently with The Lunar Chronicles. Do you relate?

Do you agree? Did I miss any stages?

What was the last book you fell in love with?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The 5 Stages of Falling in Love With a Book

  1. I love lists (both reading and writing them) and this one got all of it right! Especially the talking to someone about it part. John Green explains it beautifully in TFIOS–β€œSometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” And this is why we keep talking about the book and asking people to read it.😊

    Great post!😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

