Book Review | Since You’ve Been Gone By Morgan Matson

since-youve-been-gone-book-for-blog

 

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

General Age Recommendation: 14+

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Summer Read

Hello Everyone!

So I actually read this book a while ago, back at the very end of the summer/early fall. I am just finally getting around to write a review because honestly I’m constantly behind on reviewing the books I’m reading, gah! Anyhow, while its freezing and wet outside as I write this I thought it would be a good time to talk about this fun, summery book!

Processed with VSCO

Summary: Emily is a quiet girl, over the past few years, she has been more than happy to let her outgoing, vivacious best friend Sloane take the lead. Sloane carries all the conversations with people, Sloane makes the grand and crazy plans and Emily is happy with that. The summer before Senior Year is just starting and Sloane and Emily  have some great plans. These plans come crashing down when Sloane packs up and leaves town without any explanation, only a list of challenges for Emily, like “Kiss a Stranger” “Pick Apples at Midnight”. Emily starts out her summer with no friends, missing Sloane, she decides to do every item on the list, with the help of Frank Porter and finds herself living one of the best summers ever.

“I don’t think you have to do something so big to be brave. And it’s the little things that are harder anyway.”
Morgan Matson, Since You’ve Been Gone

What I liked: This book was great. The premise was interesting to me from the start and I was not disappointed. The writing was really good, it flowed nicely and kept me interested. The book was SO summery and I just wanted to go on an adventure after I read it. My favorite thing about the book was how realistic it was. Emily starts out shy, not confident and without very many friends, by the end of the books she has gained a lot of self confidence and has people she very close to, but it all happened very naturally and realistically. It doesn’t happen overnight or in any crazy way. Some of the items on the list would make for awkward moments or would be hard, but Morgan Matson wrote it all to be believable. I just really enjoyed this book, it was fun to read and was full of summer and friendship vibes. I just ate it up!

*Spoilers ahead*

What I didn’t like: I honestly didn’t have many problems with this book. The one thing I didn’t like was at the end when she got in a fight with Frank, Collins and Dawn, it only shows her make up with Frank, but you never see her talk to Collins or Dawn after their fight. That made me sad 😦

You Probably will like this book if:

  • You like fun lighthearted books
  • You books that mainly focus on friendship and romance
  • You want a fun summery book

You Probably won’t like this book if:

  • You want something really thought provoking or mature
  • You don’t want to read something about teens

 

Have you read this book?

Do you like to read summery books in winter or vice versa?

Leave a Reply

