Book Review: The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Wrath & The Dawn for blog

 

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

General Age Recommendation: 15+

Genre: Romance, Adventure, Fantasy. Fairytale,YA

 

Hello Everyone!

I got this book from my sister and was so excited to read it because I’m just a sucker for retellings and I had heard so many good things about this.

Summary:
Every night in Khorasan the young Caliph, Khalid marries a new girl, at dawn he kills her. After Shahrzad’s best friend is chosen to be the Caliph’s newest bride and is killed, Shahrzad volunteers to be the next girl to marry the Caliph, planning to use her sharp wit to come up with a way to kill him herself. When the Kahlid comes to her room, she buys herself more time by telling a long and interesting story, the sun rises before the story is over and the king allows her to live another day. She manages to stay alive for much longer than any other girl and in the process discovers that much more is behind the young, quiet and seemingly monstrous king.  The longer she stays at the palace, she begins to wonder how this gentle and sad boy is such a horrible killer, and wonders if she is beginning to fall in love with him. This retelling of A Thousand and One Nights is a tale of love, betrayal and intrigue.

“The more a person pushes others away, the clearer it becomes he is in need of love the most.”
Renee Ahdieh, The Wrath & the Dawn

What I liked: I definitely enjoyed this book. It took me a little while to get into it, but once I read a bit of it I was totally hooked. I loved Khalid and Shazi, they romance was so Processed with VSCOcaptivating . A lot of people say it is a bit insta- lovey, but, while their feelings for each other grew quickly, it didn’t seem unrealistic or in any way lacking. I liked Shazi as a main character, she had a good strong personality and Khalid *swoons*. Like I said earlier I really really like retellings, and this retelling of a classic story from Arabian Nights was done so well. The book was a very unique setting, and I think the author did a great job of really transporting you to the world, everything was described so beautifully and vivdly. It gave me some serious Aladdin vibes. I was just super into it.

“My soul sees its equal in you.”
Renee Ahdieh, The Wrath & the Dawn

What I didn’t Like: I really think Shahrzad and Khalid were the strong points of this book. I really loved every scene and chapter that had either of them in it, but I found myself getting slightly bored whenever the perspective changed to a side character. It got better as all the storylines came together in the end, but in the beginning of the book I found it dragging a little bit.

You probably will like this book if:

  • You like fairy tale retellings
  • You like dramatic romances
  • You like the  Arabian Nights/Nights setting

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You don’t like books about romance
  • You don’t want to read something really descriptive

 

Have you read this book? If so what did you think?

Do you like Retellings?

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

