A Book Recommendation: The Christy Miller Series by Robin Jones Gunn

Christy Miller for Blog

 

The Christy Miller Series by Robin Jones Gunn

General Age Recommendation: 13+

Genre: Teen, Romance, Christian, YA

Hello Everyone!

I’ve been gushing all about these books since the beginning of the year. I just can’t help it, I love them. I picked them up hoping for a really easy, no-brainer read after I had been reading a ton of heavy stuff, but I never expected to love them as much as I did!

Summary: Christy Miller goes to visit her rich Aunt Marti and Uncle Bob for the summer right before her fifteenth birthday.During the long summer in Newport Beach California, Christy makes new friends who all impact her life, specifically the intense surfer Todd. After a tumultuous summer, Christy comes to know on God on a much deeper, discovering what it really means to be loved by Jesus. When the summer is over, she finds out her family is moving from Wisconsin to California and the series follows Christy through highschool, relationships and life.

“[A God-thing is] when something happens in your life, and you look at it and can’t explain how or why it happened, but you know there’s a reason for it. You know that God is doing something in your life, and it changes you. There’s no other way to explain it except to see it as a God thing.”
Robin Jones Gunn, Island Dreamer

Review: This series starts out really cliche, like I was expecting, but what I was not expecting was how much it would touch my heart. Robin Jones Gunn did really amazing job capturing being a teen/young adult and many of the situations were similar to ones that I have gone through. Christy Miller was a very relatable character and I found myself empathizing with a lot of the things she was going through or how she handled situation.I thought the messages in the books would be very cliche and totally Christianese, but while the first couple of books focus on really obvious issues like drugs, eating disorders and Processed with VSCOhanging out with a bad crowd, they dealt with a lot of real life issues as well. As the series moved on I started to enjoy it more and more and I was just so into it! I’m not even going to go into how much I love Todd and Christy, I loved how realistic all the characters are, while Todd is a good Christian guy, he was in no way perfect and it was refreshing. I loved seeing the relationships develop and romance slowly unfold, the series is honestly kind of addicting. It starts really cheesy, but I  found myself reaching for one book after another and now I’m totally obsessed.

 

“And your life,’ Katie said to Christy, ‘is turning into a rather predictable romance. Girl meets boy. Boy is a dork for four years. Girl blossoms into a gorgeous woman. Boy finds his brain. Girl turns into starry-eyed mush head.”
Robin Jones Gunn, In Your Dreams

You probably will like this book if:

  • You want something really light and fun
  • You want to read a relatable teen read
  • You like books with simple and heartfelt messages

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You don’t like books that can be a little cheesy
  • You don’t like books that can be a little preachy sometimes

 

 

One thought on “A Book Recommendation: The Christy Miller Series by Robin Jones Gunn

Leave a Reply

