Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae for blog

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

General Age Recommendation: 15+

Genre: Sci- Fi, Action, YA

Hello Everyone,

Well, I kind of dropped off the face of the earth for awhile, sorry about that. I think I needed a little break. Thankfully, I finally sat down and planned my next month of blog posts and I’m feeling really excited about blogging again! My first thing I want to share with you all after my mini hiatus is a review for a book I read recently and LOVED, Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

Summary: Kady Grant and Ezra Mason just broke up, but that morning they have much more pressing things on their minds. Their planet Kerenza is under attack by a mega corporation BeiTech. Citizens manage to escape in three ships, the battle ship The Alexander, The Hypatia and Copernicus. Running for lives from The Lincoln, BeiTech’s battle ship, the military on the three refugee ships organize their under equipped population and train civilians to help the best they can. Ezra is recruited to be a fighter pilot along with many other young people on the Alexander. It quickly becomes clear that the Captains aren’t telling the people everything and then the AI ADAIN starts going crazy, a zombie like virus breaks out. Kady uses her hacker skills to get as much information as possible while on the Hypatia, trying to help her mother, friends, fellow citizens and the boy she loves.

“Ezra: And then I said it.
Interviewer; What did he say?
Kady Grant: He said, ‘You picked a hell of a day to dump me, Kades.”
Amie Kaufman, Illuminae

 

What I liked: I did not expect to like this book nearly much as I did. The format is like reading a file, hence the name, Illuminae Files. The whole story is told through emails, survelliance footage, IM’s and reports. I was afraid the format would make it hard to read, but it just made it all the more interesting. This book was just heart pounding, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, the plot flowed really well, and I just had to keep reading. It is very sci- fi oriented with spaceships, hackers, fighter pilots and zombies, but it was nothing if not interesting. I loved Kady and Ezra they were great characters and I thought they carried the story well. One of the things I loved about the book was despite the intense nature of the story there were a lot of laugh out loud moments. The file format made the book extremely unique and readable. It was just really really good.

 

What I didn’t like:  The book was honestly a little scary, it was very intense and the whole zombie virus was disturbing. I liked the book so much, it didn’t bother me too much, but it was a little more intense than I was used too.

You probably will like this book:

  • You’re a fan of Sci-Fi, Action and suspense
  • You’re looking for a fresh, new read.
  • You like really exciting books that keep you on the edge of your seats

You probably won’t like this book if:

  • You don’t like really intense books
  • You want a traditional type of book
3 thoughts on “Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

