Book Review |Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything-everything-for-blog

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

General Age I Would Recommend It Too: 15+

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Hello Everyone!

I love browsing at the bookstore, on one of my trips I found myself looking at this book. It almost instantly caught my attention, from the synopsis to the beautiful cover, I knew I had to read it.

Summary: Madeline has a disease, an illness where almost everything makes her so sick she could die. She literally cannot leave her house, which is set up to be sterile and safe for her. Her whole life is, school online, Internet, books and talking to her mom or nurse. Until a new family moves next door, that’s when she sees Olly. Just a glimpse of each other out the window leads to talking to each other through there windows, then chatting online. Pretty soon, Madeline finds herself falling in love, and wanting more than her safe and protected life. Should she risk her chance at love or risk her life?

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

What I liked: This book was good. Like I said earlier, I was already intrigued by the synopsis and from practically the first page I was hooked in. I was afraid it was going to be really cliche, being a teen romance about a character with a disease, but I thought it was unique and it had good plot twists, all things that kept it fresh. The romance was so cute, it warmed my heart and made me feel all fuzzy inside. Nicola Yoon’s writing is the kind I fall in love with, engaging and so beautiful it almost has a poetic vibe to it. I also really liked all the different pictures and journaling bits inside. I really enjoyed it so much!

What I didn’t Like: I liked this book a lot,but I thought it was too short. Not too short where you think “Oh I wish I could stay in this story longer” but too short like, 300 pages half of which are pictures and diagrams, and I finished in one short sitting short. I loved the story and characters, but I thought the book was just SO short, that certain story plots lacked necessary development. I wished you had seen more of Olly’s family and just overall gotten to know the characters for longer. I really liked it all, but I wished it had been longer and a little more developed.

“Maybe we can’t predict everything, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

You probably will like this book if:

  • You like sweet teen romances with only a touch of angst
  • You want a fun quick read
  • You want something that will really pull you in

You probably will not like this if:

  • You want something really in depth or long
  • You don’t feel like reading a romance

 

Have you read this book? If so what did you think

Do like shorter or longer books?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review |Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I have been seeing this book around. It does sound like an interesting read though based on your review, it would have been better if it had been a bit longer. I think I will add it to my TBR. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just knew that there would be plenty of diagrams and pictures! Not that it is a bad thing, though 😀

    A fuzzy, warming read is always nice! This has been in my TBR list for a while now 🙂

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe so too! It had been quite a while since my last YA romance read, so I plan to read this immediately after finding it 😀

        Thank you! I do hope so 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment